This is not the guy we are talking about. Ran a Google search and got this picture. Harmeet Singh must be feeling as smug as this guy now!
The real Harmeet spotting his warcry!
The lad does well whenever I deride and ridicule him. I am a believer. He could have won us that match vs Rajasthan Royals which we royally fucked up. Yes. I am a Deccan supporter. Will be a Kochi supporter next year, provided the team comes into existence.Lalit Modi vs Shashi Tharoor
Aah. The controversy! It seems our nation thrives on masala to live out its existence. It was Sania/Shoaib/Ayesha aka Maha Apa last week and this week its Tharoor vs Modi coupled with Shashi-Sunanda love story. Too many reports to digest, conflicting view points. The latest was Tharoor's eloquent (as always), passionate interview with The Barkha Dutt last night. Prior to that Sunanda Pushkar's kickass press release followed by denial by KKR with regard to approaching her for services. Prem Panicker has been blogging about the issue with neat summary posts. Must read.
I believe this issue will not snowball further. Corruption is deep-rooted in BCCI with most board members having stakes in franchises. Too many skeletons to expose. Powar will clamp things down before it gets out of hand. It will be surprising if he doesn't manage to get everybody off the hook.
Crass commercialisation
Modi has managed to introduce advertisement for the full length of a game. MRF blimp, Karbon Kamaal catches, and DLF maximums have not only shoved down the viewer's throat but also slammed shut with a sledge hammer. I did not see an MRF blimp hovering over Chinnaswamy anytime during the Deccan vs Bangalore match. Show some class, show some subtlety Mr. Modi. You say you are competing with EPL. Have you ever seen an EPL match which grosses out a person due to non-footballing reasons?
By the way, its a fucking balloon. Not a blimp. I get an irresistable urge to demolish my TV when I see this thing on screen with the commentators screaming MRF Blimp + Dennis Lillee/MRF Foundation/Sreesanth-Pathan-Zaheer (choose any one option). May be Modi has deals with TV makers to sell n number of TV sets owing to televisions being destroyed across the nation.
Pragyan Ojha
The dude is giving fingers left and right to the selectors for leaving him out of the T20 squad. He did everything they asked him for. Bowl in ODIs - check, bowl in test matches - check, bowl in bowlers graveyards - double check. He did reasonably well too. I rate him as a better bowler than Amit Mishra or Piyush Chawla. He is better Harby when the latter is not on a song, which is norm than the exception these days. Ojha is not afraid of tossing the ball up even after getting hit. Tries to bowl to his field with reasonable success. Refreshing to see after watching Harby play darts on the cricket pitch.
Ojha cleverly showing bats instead of fingers.
ROI and minor things like that
$300+ million spend for ten years on an IPL team. The minimum cost incurred for the two new franchises could be around $500 million. How are they going to churn out a profit from this endeavor? May be they are treading on new paths of business and economics that mere mortals like us cannot fathom. Did any of us ever envision an MRF blimp and a Karbon Kamaal catch? We are talking about trailblazers here.
On a serious note, there should be a lot of money laundering happening in the background. A far more serious thing (which I hope is not involved) would be match fixing and other underworld connotations.
Lalit Modi musing about the moolah to be raked which we cannot muse.





